Eggs for Poppy, 2012 – part 2

November 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Once again, my attempts to get eggs from the North Island have been … fraught. I found a good sounding breeder of very nice looking Rhode Island Reds on TradeMe, had a few email exchanges and then bought half a dozen eggs on Monday morning. The vendor said he’d send the eggs that day, so I was reasonably hopeful.

Fionna’s eggs arrived on Tuesday morning, so I sent an email to the NI vendor to find out who he’d used as the courier (I’ve pretty much learned the routines of the various couriers out here, and what times they’re likely to arrive). The response was ‘I use NZ Post Track and Trace’. Possibly I should have noted the tense of that verb. I didn’t, but I did send an email response to the vendor asking for the tracking number …

Which is the last I heard from them. I was hopeful the eggs would arrive on Wednesday – two days in transit wouldn’t be ideal, but should be ok. Except Wednesday came and went without either eggs or contact from the vendor. So when Thursday came and went the same way, I gave up. Three days in transit, and the eggs would be really suffering. More to the point, there was a limit to how long I wanted to leave Fionna’s eggs un-incubated. While Adelaide was still playing broody, there was at least the option of putting Fionna’s eggs under Poppy and the other eggs under Adelaide whenever they finally arrived. But when Adelaide yesterday made it clear that she wasn’t broody after all, that made waiting longer pretty well pointless.

Fortunately there was a local breeder (whose ad I’d been going to buy from two weeks ago, but then someone else beat me to it) who had good, productive Rhodies, and some eggs for sale. So last night we arranged for me to collect three or four eggs from him bright and early this morning. Done!

NB: I’ve been very carefully not mentioning who it was that I was dealing with from the NI. Those eggs arrived today, and according to the Track and Trace were sent on Tuesday. So they won’t be quite as scrambled as I’d feared, but still more abused than I am willing to go with. But I am not a happy purchaser. Not least because they weren’t sent by courier, but through parcel post. Yes, parcel post.

My local breeder, however, I am very happy to name. John Woodrow – a really great bloke to deal with.

For my own records, as well as your entertainment – the two lots of Rhode Island Red eggs (TL standing for ‘too late’), their weight and other details. Clicking on the thumbnail will open a larger photo.

Egg Weight Comments
RR1 63 g warm tan, round teardrop shape
RR2 63 g pale tan with darker freckles, longer teardrop shape
RR3 61 g pale tan, round teardrop shape
RR4 58 g mid tan, longer teardrop shape
TL1 59 g tan, long teardrop shape
TL2 57 g pale tan, longer teardrop shape
TL3 57 g tan, long teardrop shape
TL4 56 g pale tan with some white specks, teardrop shape
TL5 54 g tan, long teardrop shape
TL6 53 g tan, long teardrop shape

Late addendum: we put the eggs under Poppy this evening. After candling them all to check for shell problems and so on, we decided to set all five Dorking eggs, the one Blue Laced Wyandotte egg, two of the four Buff Laced Wyandotte eggs (BLW1 and BLW3), all four RR eggs from John, and (just in case) the two best-looking of the six eggs from the North Island – TL3 and TL4. (At least two of the TLs had air sacks that appeared stuck to the side of the egg, so adding two of his eggs to the mix is more out of a sense of curiosity than any expectation of a successful hatch.) If someone else goes broody in the next five or six days, we might tuck the other eggs under them, but otherwise it’s all down to those sixteen. We’ll see in seven days time!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eggs for Poppy, 2012 – part 2 at ChookeNZ.

meta

